HONNE - Warm On A Cold Night

British duo HONNE make a stunning debut with rnb song “Warm On A Cold Night.” Overflowing with feel-good soul and pulsating with sensuality, the track sees release on Sept. 1 via Super Recordings.


Astronauts, etc. - Fuss

It’s been too long since we featured new music from Astronauts, etc. The Oakland artist has just signed to LA indie label Hit City U.S.A., and will release a new 6-track EP, Sadie, on Sept. 6. New track “Fuss” provides an intriguing first taste of the EP. Get lost in its beautiful haze above.


Amber Run - I Found

Watch the cinematic + evocative video for Amber Run’s “I Found.” This gorgeous song is pulled from their forthcoming Pilot EP, due out on Sept. 21.


Jessie Ware - Share It All

Jessie Ware shares stunning new track “Share It All.” Co-written with Romy Madley Croft of The xx, the track will appear on the deluxe edition of Ware’s forthcoming album, Tough Love, set for release later this year.


We have a new Spotify account with new playlists that we update often.

Click here to follow, if Spotify is your thing.


Shura - Just Once

Shura shares melodic new track “Just Once.” Though the track contemplates a break-up, the delivery is made sweet thanks to Shura’s soothing and gentle yet seductive vocals. With two excellent tracks under her belt, the London songstress is shaping up to be one of the more intriguing artists of 2014.


Marz Léon - Fire

Slow-paced, explicit, and haunting is “Fire,” the second single from LA songstress + producer + model Marz Léon. Seemingly tailored for moments of quiet reflection, emotionally-open lyrics and an almost ghostly backdrop resonate with deliberate restraint. Léon’s debut EP is in the works.

Revisit her debut single “Loner” below.

Marz Léon - Loner [video]


FURNS - Keeper

In the mood for a silky groove? Then look no further than “Keeper” by Copenhagen duo FURNS. This mellow + intoxicating track previews their upcoming full-length album slated for release this fall 2014.


MOTHER // live photos

[Words + photos by Kadene Chin]

It’s always interesting to see a new band perform early on. It can either go really well or be absolutely terrible. When I caught NYC band Mother live at Ortlieb’s in Philly, I wasn’t sure what to expect. They’ve only released two tracks so far and as good as those songs are, you never know what a band might sound like live. To my delight, the 5-piece band had a whole album’s worth of material for the crowd in Philly that night. Fronted by actor turned musician Penn Badgley and including members of Reputante and Lolawolf, the band’s sound can be fairly described as sultry indie rock. Taking the stage at the legendary Ortlieb’s Lounge, which can only be described as a classy dive bar, it was obvious that these guys have been putting in the work to craft a unique sound. For a taste, revisit their second single “Victim” below.

Mother - Victim


Cyril Hahn - Slow feat. Rochelle Jordan

Listen to this smooth new track from producer Cyril Hahn, featuring RnB songstress Rochelle Jordan (ROJO). Alluring, come-hither vocals and a sway-inducing backdrop make for a sublime jam. “Do you mind if we take it slow?”

Look for the track on Hahn’s Voices EP, out soon via PMR Records.



Most Sundays, we put together a batch of eclectic tracks for your listening pleasure. Ear catching melodies and their perfectly paired vocals inspire this week’s “Sunday Night Grooves.”

1. Little Daylight - Love Stories (Great Good Fine Ok Remix)

Brooklyn trio just released their debut album, Hello Memory. Album track “Love Stories” gets even poppier with this shimmery, day-glo remix by Brooklyn duo Great Good Fine Ok.

2. Body Language - 4 Real

With new single “4 Real,” NYC 4-piece Body Language land in uptempo, pop-rnb territory. The band pays homage to ’90s rnb jams with sweet dulcet vocals floating over an air of uptempo, feel good pop. Their new EP, Infinite Sunshine, is set for release later this summer.

3. Amber Run - I Found

British band Amber Run pull right on your heartstrings, calling for your ears on this indie folk love song. “I Found Love” is the latest single from the Nottingham, England 5-piece band.

4. Mansions On the Moon - Don’t Tell

Crafting a solid party groove, LA band Mansions On The Moon nail summer on the head with new track “Don’t Tell.” DownLoad it here, and look for their new album to drop this summer 2014.

5. Kelis - Fish Fry (Darq E Freaker Remix)

Just a truly amazing remix by London producer + DJ Darq E Freaker. Kelis’ breathy vocals shine over this textured, sparkle-grit instrumental.

6. Sinead Harnett - No Other Way (Ryan Hemsworth Remix)

Back in May, we featured a sultry, hip hop-leaning rnb track called “No Other Way" by British songstress Sinead Harnett (produced by Snakehips). Now, Ryan Hemsworth puts his spin on the track. The Canadian producer adds pops of sparkle and driving analogue and a sway-inducing feel.

7. Tokimonsta - Realla (feat. Anderson Paak)

LA producer Tokimonsta announces release of new mini album Desiderium, the first record for her new label Young Art. Ahead of the EP’s release, she shares new track “Realla” featuring singer Anderson Paak. Recommended for fans of Frank Ocean, the new rnb tune plays out like a warm, summer breeze.

8. MØ - Walk This Way (Lido Remix)

Producer Lido, who just dropped his I Love You EP, crafts a striking remix of “Walk ThIs Way” by MØ. This Lido remix captures MØ’s high energy while adding his signature uptempo flairs and driving base line to the track.

9. Sinkane - How We Be

We love the jamming electropop-tribal groove on this new track “How We Be” by Sudanese, Brooklyn-based artist Sinkane. His new album, Mean Love, is out on Sept 2 via City Slang (EU) and DFA (US).

10. Shabazz Palaces - Forerunner Foray

We close things out with a head-nodding new track by Seattle’s experimental hip hop group Shabazz Palaces. “Forerunner Foray” is pulled from their upcoming new album, Lese Majesty, out on July 29 via Sub Pop.


Laura Doggett - Phoenix

From the opening notes of “Phoenix,” you sense impending greatness. Produced by British artist SOHN, a textured and breathtaking melody takes hold before Laura Doggett’s gorgeous + soulful vocals kick in. The rest is magic.


Shlohmo & Jeremih - No More EP

LA producer Shlohmo + rnb crooner Jeremih casually release their collaborative EP, No More. The 6-track EP includes an extended cut of Shlohmo’s stellar remix of that certain late night track by Jeremih and “Bo Peep,” the track created during the pair’s collaborative session for Yours Truly SF.

Four new original tracks, including an album closer featuring Chance The Rapper, round out the EP. Download the EP here.

Track list:

  1. No More
  2. F*ck You All The Time Remix (Extended Cut)
  3. Dope
  4. Bo Peep
  5. Let It Go
  6. The End (feat. Chance the Rapper)

Shlohmo & Jeremih - The End (feat. Chance The Rapper)


alt-J - Hunger of The Pine

Directed by Nabil. Concept by Joe Newman (alt-J frontman).

Well, alt-J’s “Hunger of The Pine” didn’t really grab me at first but this video certainly has captured my immediate attention. Intense. Wonderful.

alt-J’s sophomore album, This Is All Yours, is out on Sept. 22.


... this is not a blog for hipsters.



Loading Music
Powered by Soundcloud